The hunt continues

by Antony Chazapis

My first award safari trophy is hanging on the wall. I applied for the CQ WPX Award early December last year, right after getting the last needed QSO confirmation. The award manager was very helpful in guiding me through the process, as I needed a combination of eQSL, LoTW and paper card credits to reach 300 prefixes. About a month later, the award was issued, and about three months since I filed the application, I found it in my mailbox.

Shack on March 20, 2016

The hunt continues. I have not done any DXing in the last months, but a few direct QSL replies have raised the number of confirmed DXCC entities to 75 (out of 86 logged). Last week, I took down the 20 meter dipole, which I am intending to replace with a c-pole or some other type of vertical. I hope that the change in polarization will help me reach out to other parts of the world.

Update: My short participation to the CQ World Wide WPX Contest was surprisingly fruitful. I easily logged a couple of new African countries with the 20 meter c-pole on Saturday morning. However, when I came back in the afternoon, I realized that there was nothing new on 20 meters. Instead, on 15 I could hear a whole lot of countries from South America. Next morning, I replaced the c-pole with a wire vertical for 15 meters, with just one radial aiming east. Then, on Sunday afternoon, I logged 8 new countries from Central and South America! Amazing. With an additional African contact a few days later, I am now at 97 DXCC entities (81 confirmed).

